SolarWinds Web Help Desk reviews

SolarWinds® Web Help Desk® is affordable web-based ticketing and IT asset management software that is designed to help organizations be more efficient and streamline processes. Web Help Desk provides ticketing management, asset management, and change management. Use built-in reports and dashboards to help track ticket status, technician performance, and customer support needs, and help ensure you meet SLAs.

Read third-party Web Help Desk reviews from actual customers to help you make an informed buying decision.

DOWNLOAD FREE TRIAL EMAIL LINK TO FREE TRIAL Fully Functional for 14 Days

42 Customer Reviews

Customer Review Overall Rating

Rated 4.3 based on 42 Ratings

Review Highlights

Easy to use. “Dramatically simplified managing IT support issues.”
Excellent setup and function. “The web interface allows multiple users to use the software simultaneously.”
Cost effective. “It has been a very low cost, reliable solution…”
1-9 of 42 reviews
May 09, 2017
"Ease of implementation and use. User friendly UI. Easy to create dashboards for management. Incredibly easy to manage. Lacks some more advanced features that larger solutions have but nothing I find I miss; it certainly makes up for this in simplicity and cost."
Byron Anderson
Systems Engineer, Atmosera
May 10, 2017
"Customizable. We have been able to transform our instance in to much more than expected that just a typical helpdesk. it has aided in process flow by applying approval processes as well. Hard pressed to find anything wrong with it. Anything we have needed thus far has been able to be resolved with a little bit of imagination."
Adam White
IT Purchasing Mgr, RoviSys
May 10, 2017
"The ease of use, the end user has the power to submit a well thought out help request. We can also manage many assets and software through the application."
Jason Zickefoose
Applications Administrator, Chesapeake Financial
May 10, 2017
"Hosted locally for added security. Inventories machines. Ability to RDP within ticketing system. Will text alerts is added plus. Not much to complain about. It does what it is supposed to do . Updating application can be sometimes time consuming but support is always available. "
Andrew Ngure
System Administrator, Ascentria
May 10, 2017
"I enjoy being able to custom build reports, have an amazing dashboard in the NOC for all to see. One with soft helpdesk technical skills can easy navigate and self learn. Wonderful mobile interface with iPhone. Would like a training session on digging deeper to create specific reports and in the Dashboard. A shared dashboard among all users would be wonderful instead of user specific."
Stephanie Wright
Lead Support Technician, Docufree
May 10, 2017
"I like that end users are able to update tickets. We are able to provide FAQs to all end users. Nice to add hardware to user profile. Not clear to end users that they must login to update or respond to their tickets through the helpdesk, users are responding in email instead."
Annette Rizzo
App Support Spec, NPMA
May 10, 2017
"It is easy to see all tickets in the system, and who is working said tickets. Notes within the tickets are easy to add or edit, and the reporting is a great feature. It tends to hang in my browser at times, which requires a restart of the browser. This happens both in Internet Explorer 11, or Firefox. "
Alex Bles
Technical Support Analyst, Power Wellness
May 10, 2017
"Easy deployment. Fairly robust automation/workflow (certainly room for improvement). Integration with other SolarWinds products works well. Very limited reporting functionality. Much of the available customization is not intuitive...wizards would be a great feature addition."
Apollo Cherniak
IT Manager, Fresh Creative Foods
May 10, 2017
"Pros: The ability to sort tickets to different teams with ease. Web Help Desk makes our approval processes easier to manage and verify. Developers responded directly to forum requests. Cons: Limited to a single tab per user. If links are opened in multiple tabs, issues will occur. Still has some limits with approval boards."
Brian Bojorquez
Sysadmin Lvl1, Nissin International Transport USA Inc.
May 10, 2017
"Email-centric the users have the option for webforms or email. Goes as deep as you need - you can create a simple ticket system or integrate with asset management and other tools. Easy to manage. Online help could be easier to use, sometimes i have to go hunting for a tool or screen to manage. Asset management should do discovery and keep itself up to date. "
Carl Brightbill
IT manger, Travelopia NAE
May 10, 2017
"Some pros to this is that it syncs with your active directory and other SolarWinds products. Allowing users to create tickets using their AD credentials instead of having to create individual accounts. The ticket tracking is also very nice and clean. The initial configuration is a pain if you do not know what you're doing. It does not auto select to email the client either."
Chad Wolf
IS Technician, SEH America
May 10, 2017
"Simple straight forward , everything is linked . Easy to use . I like the parts implementation and the ability to print quotes and invoices. Would like the ability to see print all records (assets, contacts, locations) as one spreadsheet."
Christopher Guay
Service Manager, Echosens Inc.
May 10, 2017
"Easy to incorporate with AD. Easy to customize your own reports for management. I like how each user has the ability to modify there own dash board. The color and theme should be interchangeable. I wish there was a switchable color theme."
Christopher Smith
Network Engineer, Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
May 10, 2017
"Easy to use and administer. Low cost. Fairly customizable. Integrates with other SolarWinds products. The iOS app is not as useful as it could be. The app interface could use a makeover and it would be nice to have features like bar code scanning using the camera."
Dan Garwood
Operations Manager, Integrated Technology, USC School of Medicine Greenville
May 10, 2017
"The effectiveness is in the simplicity. We can address our needs without an overly complicated amount of steps, yet have enough flexibility to shape the tool to our needs. Every question we have had has been answered quickly and to the point. Tech Support has been responsive and helpful. Reporting is typically where I see a shortcoming in help desk software, but I have not seen that yet here."
Darren Rohlwing
IT Manager, Rosecrance
May 10, 2017
"I enjoy the integration with other SolarWinds product such as DameWare Support. An indispensable tool that helps gauge out teams efficiency and help us identify trends and appropriately adjust resources for projects. I absolutely love the email-to-ticket feature as it helped with adoption from my users. the software scales well and completely granular at the same time. As robust as it is, it can become easy to get lost in the features. We had an issue with text message alerts that was resolved with the help of support."
David Corona
Systems Administrator, Warren-Newport Public Library District
May 10, 2017
"It integrates with SolarWinds and helps with asset control. The Helpdesk UI/UX is easy to read. It allows for Helpdesk automation tasks, IE: reminder events. The assets aren't cleanly entered into the system from SolarWinds. Example: Out of the box, any device with both Ethernet and wireless connects show as two different devices. "
David Whittaker
Systems Administrator, Bird Stairs
May 10, 2017
"Pros: The automation of alerts and escalations. The ease of setting them up and how easy it is to maintain and update the system. Cons: It seems a little difficult to pull reports and maintain ticket history for users or techs that have been deleted. "
Dustin Hasty
Senior Help Desk Technician, Human Kinetics
May 10, 2017
"There are several good things about this program. 1st, the ability to keep track of problems. This cannot be underestimated across two buildings with hundreds of laptops and other equipment. 2nd, the ability to maintain open dialogue with clients who need repairs. 3rd, the ability to sort issues by client, room, or situations and see the history of a problem, or a problem user. Cons: The interface is functional, just not snazzy, and modern! I have always wanted an ability to printout a viable list of open jobs to give to techs. I just can't figure out how to do that. For instance, assign all AV jobs to one tech and send him/her a Task List..."
Emmanuel Hill
Systems Administrator, Our World Neighborhood Charter School
May 10, 2017
"The software is very configurable including custom action rules, approval processes, inventory (software/hardware), and various queues that allow for customized responses. The format of replies can be difficult to read/follow and is not very customizable. The inventory does not collect the user an asset is assigned to; while this is a typical WMI feature, it's not available for some reason in our current version. "
Erik Stallings
End User Support Manager, World Travel Holdings
May 10, 2017
"Ease of use, ability to email in tickets, large amount of features, also works with office 365 which is a plus! It can be laggy at times, based on it being built in java. Wish you could archive tickets so it would help keep system clean."
Jon Billiau
Sys Admin, Industrial Control Repair
May 10, 2017
"I like it's ease of use in creating and editing the ticket types. This allows me to easily create plenty of different tickets for easy metrics and organization. I do not like how the system works primarily off of the email system, having users able to CC the help desk email we assign to the system and generate multiple tickets for one issue has been an issue for our organization."
Jeffrey Caouette
Help Desk Technician III, LA BioMed
May 10, 2017
"User interface, integration with other SolarWinds products, Support, ease of install and management. It needs some improvements and customization ability. I would like to see a better parent child ticket relationship established. It could improve the custom field settings greatly. Allowing for more of them in other places. Its needs better navigation. "
Jeremy Mayfield
IT Director, American Cement Company
May 10, 2017
"Pros: It was priced well for the features it provides. It integrates with SCCM for inventory purposes as well as SQL and Exchange. Cons: Some of the interface is not as intuitive as I would like it to be. Really very minor. I would like to create a ticket from the client information page and have a save button at the top of the ticket too."
Jeri Randall
Helpdesk Manager, Cal Farley's
May 10, 2017
"Pros: Web Help Desk is so stinking flexible it drives me crazy. Fields can be made hidden, visible, editable at every level of user (client/technician). You can even create your own custom fields. Escalation path, approval processes are all there. You just select what you want to use and how to implement it. Cons: Web Help Desk is so stinking flexible I sometimes have trouble keeping track of all the options. I've now manged to turn off a feature that I can't figure out how to turn back on!"
Robert Myers
I.S. Operations Manger, Pine Rest Christian Mental Health Services
May 10, 2017
"Web Help Desk (WHD) has two main features that I love. You can create help desk tickets and you can track assets. WHD ticket system has a dashboard that you can create many different widgets on to see beautiful and detailed graphics. It also also has tabs to see your tickets, your group tickets, flagged tickets, and a search tab to see all tickets. WHD assets system allows you to input your devices or anything that used like to allow users to borrow. Then users can request usage of the devices. WHD has a very clean user interface. It is very easy to navigate and it is mobile friendly. There isn't anything that I don't really like about WHD. It would be nice is new features were developed and published more frequently. I think the software is usually only updated once a year."
Jonathan Sorrenti
Educational Technology Systems Manager, Midlands Technical College
May 10, 2017
"The software is easy to use and navigate... There are many mediums of data collection that can be create and customized. Searching the application isnt so great. The search area is limited to ticket numbers and specific names... There really isnt a way to find a quick search method for key terms or anything like that."
Jose Vargas
IS Support Technician I, LABioMed
May 10, 2017
"We mostly use the Tickets and the Assets portions of the software. I actually reference the Assets portion of this software the most. It helps me to evaluate the current and future needs of our end users. I can quickly search and find the hardware a user has; which allows me to determine what can be reallocated and to whom. We were looking at open source packages but the person that made the final decision decided to purchase this software."
Kevin Klawonn
Systems Administrator, Augustana University
May 10, 2017
"Ease of use and access. Covers everything we need for a small/medium business, and runs great a virtual server. If you buy other products from SolarWinds it integrates with those too. The emailing of tickets is seamless, and it is easy to keep all communications within the tool. Integrates nicely with Active Directory. Asset tracking is not as good as other tools. The reporting has a learning curve, and needs to have more options."
Kevin Melka
Systems Administrator, R&B Wagner
May 09, 2017
"SolarWinds is great for being a helpdesk ticketing system which is what we purchased it for, however, it does much more than that! It is a very useful tool for inventory, as well as purchase orders, and other items. It definitely has more features than we expected and we've been slowly incorporating more and more of these as we've used the product. I like the ability to add custom fields, a lot of products you are stuck with how they are configured out of the box, SolarWinds is definitely not that product. The only real downside to SolarWinds has been the fact that some of the more advanced things such as Single Sign On (SSO) / ADFS were not very user friendly to configure, but we have successfully done it, and it does work quite well. The only other issue we have had is some off / on issues where if we reboot the server we have it hosted on, it will go back to being a trial license, but a simple call to Customer Support and the issue is resolved."
Kory Miller
Systems Administrator, Tapestry Technologies, Inc.
May 10, 2017
"Very easy to navigate and easy access to information and I need and monitor. As in Web application performance application up time and down time. The main reason I gave it a 3 star on the Ease of Use was because I had a little trouble installing and setup. But once it done every thing was easy. I think my main problem was with my Virtual Environment not the software itself."
Matthew Berlin
IT Administrator, JMC
May 10, 2017
"I love the ability to build custom maps of the overall network. This allows frequent checkups on how the system's are running. Ticketing systems are easily used except input users selecting the correct assigned IT personnel. Very big learning curve and way too many different systems that need their own installation instead of a (add on) to the main SolarWinds program. Still learning about network discovery and even with the help videos, there are still things not working properly yet. "
Matthew Reimer
Networking Administrator, Nixon Medical
May 10, 2017
"We love how easy it is to use for us and our staff. It is easy to keep track of reporting and to look up responses and past tickets. Asset Management is not the easiest to add assets into. Longer process to add them in individually."
Melanie Broud
Network Manager, North Olmsted School District
May 10, 2017
"SolarWinds Web Help Desk is a wonderful product. It's easy to implement and use. We did a survey, and our end-users loved the product compared to what we were using previously. There is a lot of flexibility and higher-end features that you don't find in every solution. The mobile interface could be a little bit better. It's easy for quick checking of tickets and responses, but more features would be nice."
Mike Wagner
Systems Manager, WOCO
May 10, 2017
"Customer support and tech support from SolarWinds has been quick and efficient. We have had minimal trouble from our users since implemented. There are still some features we would like that I have asked about but been told currently these are not available ie: Case #1147377 - "Ticket Custom Fields""
Paula Gerard
IT Helpdesk, VICTORY TEAM
May 10, 2017
"Runs on MacOS X. Integrates with JAMF Casper for asset management. Binds to Apple's Open Directory. Works really well from the users standpoint. Whether they choose to simply communicate through email or log directly in. If you close the browser window without logging out first, it can be problematic to get logged back in without quitting the browser entirely."
Perry Johnson
Network AdministratorPeriscope
May 10, 2017
"Easy to send messages back and forth from client and technician. Can then set reminders on tickets to ensure you do not over look a ticket. Has a FAQ section that allows you to record solutions to reoccurring problems or questions. If a ticket has been passed around a few times it is not easy to see who previously worked on the ticket. The information is displayed in the ticket history but this records everything and can become lengthy on a higher level ticket. "
Robert Paltrineri
Database Administrator, Community Services Group
May 10, 2017
"The ease of use is what has sold me. I was able to customize the experience to my liking without to much effort. We are able to track the metrics that we desire and it helps our team have a clear sense of what needs to be accomplished in a given day. From the techs to the staff, it has been a great tool that has eliminated a lot of time waste that we used to have. Probably the biggest con that I would have is that there isn't a remote desktop client built in. Of course we are in an education environment, and cost is always an issue. We'd love to have the integration without the additional cost, but I realize that's not always an option."
Ross Burdick
Network Support Specialist, Aberdeen Public Schools
May 10, 2017
"Customizable to fit nearly all needs for a modern IT department with a need to track incidents, requests, and problems. There are times when I wish the reporting functions were better. There are limitations to what you can report and dashboards. Wish there was an ability to make custom fields visible or hidden dynamically based upon selection of other custom fields on the ticket submission forms."
Taylor Bogle
Helpdesk Manager, Suddath
May 10, 2017
"Ease of use, end user friendly. We haven't used the asset portion of it much bit would like to start using it soon. Rest of software is solid. The calendar view is nice to see the due dates for your tickets. For us it's fine, but a larger company may want some more customization options. There is not much I can think of not to like for our use. "
Todd Schwarz
Network Specialist, First Alliance Credit Union
May 10, 2017
"Integration across systems for a true live environment. We're able to pinpoint network usage or a downed node within seconds. Custom map utilization helps us view our environment as we see it. Sometimes setup isn't as straight forward, support has always been helpful though. We use this software 24/7 for our HelpDesk. "
Tom Rivera
ITSS Tech II, Neighbors Health
May 10, 2017
"Pros: Customizing ability and ease of use for clients. Easy to track assets and update inventory. Reporting is very easy. Cons: Have to go into settings every time I need to add request types or new assets. I want to make additions right from the ticket screen or asset screen. Also I want the help desk calendar to sync directly onto my outlook calendar. Asset audit sucks. Want to know detailed info about the computers like software, o/S, memory, hard drive and it's a pain or doesn't pull the info most of the time. "
Adam Augustine
Help desk, Wild man Business Group
1-9 of 42 reviews

Take the Next Step

DOWNLOAD FREE TRIAL Fully functional for 14 days
Let's talk it over.
Contact our team. Anytime.
+1-866-530-8100
{{STATIC CONTENT}}
{{CAPTION_TITLE}}

{{CAPTION_CONTENT}}

{{TITLE}}