Administer > Create and manage alerts > Create new alerts to monitor your environment > Define what happens when the alert is reset

Define what happens when the alert is reset

Use reset actions to perform specific tasks when an alert is no longer active, such as writing to the log that the issue has been acknowledged. Reset actions are usually used to notify others that the situation has been resolved or to write the resolution to a log file.

  1. Click Add Action.
  2. Select an action from the list.

    See Alert Actions for a complete list of available actions.

  3. Click Configure Action.
  4. Enter the necessary information for the action.

    Each action requires different information. Select from the list of Alert Actions for more information per action.

    Some actions require extra configuration steps, specific information, or special software. See Preconfiguration Tasks.

    Each action has the following sections:

    • Name of action - This is not required, but can make it easier to organize and find your actions in the Action Manager.
    • Time of Day - You can choose different actions to occur at different times of the day or month. For example, if you want to send a page, you might send it to a different person on weekends or holidays than during the week.
  5. Click Add Action to save it to the list of reset actions in the alert.

To perform the same actions as when the alert was triggered, click Copy Actions From Trigger Actions Tab. Use the copied trigger actions as a base and modify them to reflect that the alert is no longer active.

When an alert is reset, the actions will be performed in the order that they are listed. You can test each action to ensure the action does what you expect it to do.

Click Next to review your alert settings.